The Real Power of Social Media pt.2

Dear Berners,

I’m typically one of those strange people who prefers actual human contact versus liking statuses on facebook and retweeting posts on twitter. My overall view of social media has been, up to this point – rather bleak. I’ve viewed it more as a disconnection than a connection.

That is, until this election process begun.

All of the sudden, I find myself inclined to open these apps and within are profound discoveries in human emotion, mass connection under a righteous cause, and I have found such immense beauty in being a part of this machine that has been the most honest form of media out there. Imagine that?!

There are people fighting hard to keep it honest, too! The Young Turks, and Huffpost, as well as average everyday users like you and me – we want the truth to be heard, read, and understood!

So, whereas the first part to my blog about the power of social media painted this picture of it being a destructive force, I am literally confounded to find myself with an intense sense of purpose, and of joy when I connect with like minded people who share a common interest in something much greater than ourselves. Something worth believing in.

I say, “something,” and not “someone,” because to me, it’s bigger than Bernie Sanders. To me the revolution is YUUUUGE! United we stand, divided we fall. So the fact that you don’t know me, but you know I’m behind this revolution, fighting and hoping that the revolution includes Bernie Sanders as the POTUS – you immediately identify with me. You know, somehow, that we are kindred spirits and we unite under this cause that, upon an actual battlefield, I could look you in the eye, you look at me, we instinctively know that we’ve got each others’ backs.

It’s also evolution. Because what I just described ‘on a battlefield,’ there’s a trust there that resonates with my heart and soul. I believe other Berners feel it too. How beautiful it is to be a part of something… Something real, and tangible. Something so incredible that if we succeed in getting Bernie Sanders into the White House – we can all tack that up among one of the greatest accomplishments in our lifetime. The first day that “good” won. It wouldn’t be because we accomplished it in the traditional way, but rather, because as a whole, we chose love over fear.

I’m actually proud to be an American, maybe for the first time in a decade. When Bush dropped bombs on Baghdad, I started to lose hope. I began to feel like no matter what – the cards were never in the peoples’ favor. I wrote a song about the “same ol’ people bringing us down.”

Along comes this man whose been saying virtually the same thing his entire career – and yet I’d never heard of him. This wonderful man gave us all a reason to stand in solidarity, united under a single undiluted cause, and with that, hope is reborn!

There is a very palpable awakening happening within the souls of millions of people. We’ve hijacked social media. Wherever you find ignorance flourishing, you find berners vanquishing that ignorance with sound reason and best of all – a sense of empathy and compassion.

All of the sudden, inspiration is born again within me to relearn my old protest songs, to write new ones, and to engage in this social media machine that has brought so many of us together.

I hit “add friend” and “follow” now when I see someone like me out there fighting for truth and justice. Nine times out of ten, the invite is accepted. Pretty soon, my feed is peppered with the fires Berning in the hearts of so many beautiful people whom I can feasibly call my brothers and sisters and they would agree.

I don’t think I could have anticipated that this would happen in my lifetime. I was there paying attention to my twitter feed for hours upon hours after the shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson. I watched in horror as the area eroded into a police state and took it as a sign of our country eroding into stagnation. I took part in the moral outrage felt by the people of Ferguson and felt such empathy as the cop, the representative of the law, was exonerated and no charges were brought upon him.

So, we arrive at today where kindled flames have been brought to blazing fire, berning. Finally, a man for the people. Finally, a man with honesty and integrity! What a beautiful opportunity we have, in that our generation has the privilege of taking part in this – knowing WE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE! We’re already doing it!

I’m going to let this fire Bern within me no matter what. Come what may! If the “elite” chooses to rig this thing in favor of the establishment, we will continue on the path of bringing this revolution to fruition. I am proud to be a part of something, I am excited that people everywhere have found profound meaning in partaking in social media and (for all intents and purposes) winning the internet.

I chalk this up as a positive affirmation that “good” still exists out there and I trust with my whole heart in this movement taking place within our culture in favor of love, empathy, compassion, life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

We CAN and WILL continue to embrace these values and with every turn of the crank – we gain wisdom to share with future generations to make corruption accountable for its involvement in undermining the authority of the people, and distorting democracy.

We are the revolution that countless modern prophets, artists, musicians and other respectable humans have foreseen for decades now. It’s no longer just a pipe dream, or a seemingly unachievable goal. It’s within our reach to truly make a difference and inspire others to embark upon the same path leading towards a better future for us all.

I’ve often referenced my two year old son – in that I have been saddened at the thought of my beautiful boy growing up in a world where there are so many ridiculous social distinctions separating us – an agenda forced upon us to keep us fighting each other instead of the top 1%, who have repeatedly brainwashed thousands, if not MILLIONS of people into submitting to distraction.

Now, we’ve taken that tool of distraction and turned it on them! The result is unity! The result is standing, in unison, screaming, “ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!”

To know that you, Berners, are out there fighting the good fight and never giving up, never surrendering – I am inspired. I want to thank you all for showing me that it’s possible! But not only that – for showing me that I am not alone here. We are all in this together. You are my brothers and sisters! You are the embodiment of Ghandi’s quote, “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

Never lose hope! If you find yourself burdened with sadness over the overwhelming negativity we encounter on a daily basis, I urge you to change the lens you’re viewing it through. Everything boils down to perspective and as Tony Robbins says “You have to ask yourself a few rudimentary questions. Is this the end, or is it the beginning?” If it’s not the end, then it still must be the beginning. The beginning of a better and brighter future for ourselves and our children. We can and will accomplish this!

With much love and gratitude,

Andi

 

 

One thought on “The Real Power of Social Media pt.2

  1. I like what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

    Like

Leave a comment